Physics Department

About the Department

The Department of physics was established in 2003 to provide education, to impart knowledge and to promote research and extension activities. Since its inception, it has grown to great heights rendering valuable services to the student community. The Department provides basic Physics foundation through lectures and laboratory courses to the students of the B. Sc., M. Sc. and M. Phil programmes. This program trains future physicists with hands-on experience on pure science and skills based knowledge in addition to offering them one of the most rigorous Physics curricula in the world. We carry out research in many frontier areas, including Nano materials and nanostructures, Vibrational Spectroscopy, Theoretical and Computational Physics and Crystal Physics. The teachers are involved in research activities and published many research papers and also presented papers in seminars/conferences.

Vision & Mission

Vision of the Department

Achieve excellence and commit to stand out as a pre-eminent centre of teaching and research in Physics with noble ideas of up bringing the disadvantaged students by offering quality physics education to make them employable, self-reliant, and futuristic and endowed with human values.

Mission of the Department

The mission of the department is to develop next generations of skilled professionals and scientists by providing excellent graduate, postgraduate, pre-doctoral education to meet the cut-throat competition in securing employment. This department aims at training young women of quality to be leaders in all walks of life and serve other with justice, truth and love.

Salient Features

  • A complete and contemporary educational experience
  • The department offers a comprehensive learning environment with personal freedom and a wide range of non academic activities
  • Well qualified, experienced and dedicated teachers
  • Innovative teaching learning methodologies
  • Spacious laboratories for UG and PG with state of the art equipments
  • Every week students are encouraged to improve their skills by taking active part in HIGGS club activities

Course Offered

UG Courses

  • B.Sc (Physics)

PG Courses

  • M.Sc (Physics)

Research Programmes

  • M.Phil (FT)


UG Course

Eligibility criteria

  • A pass in higher secondary examinations with physics as one of the subject duration.
  • Student should have 10+2 years pattern of Education.

Duration of the course

3 years (six semesters)

PG Courses

Eligibility criteria

  • A pass in a recognized Bachelor’s degree of minimum 3 years duration.
  • Student should have 10+2+3 years pattern of Education.

Duration of the course

2 Years (4 semesters)

Research Programme

  • M.Phil

M. Phil Physics (FT)

Eligibility criteria

Candidates who have qualified for Post Graduate Degree of this University or any other University recognized by the Syndicate as equivalent thereto shall be eligible to register for the Degree of Master of Philosophy (M.Phil.,) in their respective subjects and undergo the prescribed course of study in an approved institution or Department of this University. Candidates who have qualified for their Post Graduate Degree on or after 19th September 1991 shall be required to have obtained a minimum of 55% of marks in their respective Post Graduate Degrees to become eligible to register for the degree of the Master of Philosophy (M.Phil.,) and undergo the prescribed course of study in an approved institution or Department of this University.

For the candidates belonging to SC/ST community and those who have qualified for the Master’s degree before 19th September 1991 the minimum eligibility marks shall be 50% in their Master’s Degree.


One year (two semesters)

Annual Report

2017 - 2018

Date Name of the Event Description of Event Chief Guest No. of Beneficiary
17.08.2017 GUEST LECTURE - Dr. S. Gowri 78
18.08.2017 MOTIVATIONAL PROGRAMME - Ln. B. Tamilselvan, 75
27.02.2018 NATIONAL CONFERENCE - Dr. P. Elumalai 84
27.02.2018 NATIONAL CONFERENCE - Dr. G. Sivakumar 46
28.02.2018 NATIONAL CONFERENCE - Dr. Srinivasan Natarajan, FASc, FNASc., FNA., FRSc., 625
28.02.2018 NATIONAL CONFERENCE - Dr. R.T. Rajendrakumar, M.Sc., Ph.D., 630
17.08.2017 GUEST LECTURE - Dr. S. GOWRI 306
24.08.2017 CLUB ACTIVITES - S. KAVIYA 75
13.09.2017 EDUCATIONAL TOUR Cochin – Allepey – Wonderla - 100
20.09.2017 INDUSTRIAL VISIT Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Kodaikanal - 100
21.02.2018 INDUSTRIAL VISIT Radio  Astronomy Centre, Ooty - 100
01.03.2018 INDUSTRIAL VISIT Nuclear Power Plant, Kudankulam - 50

2016 - 2017

2015 - 2016